You may find some with the AAE file extension when you look through your photos folder On an Apple device, something like IMG_56789.AAE could be called from the picture. The file extensions cannot be displayed default on a Windows PC. Therefore, IMG_56789 with a blank icon preview is simply the image file name. For Windows users, this can be confusing.
What is AAE File Extension ?
I’m sure you wonder what the file type .AAE is and how it can be opened because when you try to do it, you’re going to receive a message like “Windows can’t open this file.”
.AAE files are simply the editing of an existing image on an Apple device. You can delete an AAE file without the actual photo being deleted, but you will lose all its changes. The editing information is stored in XML format, easily accessible in the Notepad text editor.
This file extension is a product of Apple, iOS 8 and above, and the Mac OS 10.10+ or later. As mentioned. Suppose you transfer a photo to a Windows computer with this.AAE file extension, the file will be transmitted as a regular old JPEG, and there are no edits.
How to Open .AAE File ?
Any edits made to a photo would automatically override the original image in older versions of iOS. This is no longer the case when creating an AAE file. The. AAE files will be placed in a different folder, followed by the name format, instead of .JPG, it will end with a .AAE file extension.
The file is now left in a single editor in the original file. When the edit instructions are saved, they are kept in a different file – an AAE file (which is also called an AAE Sidecar file).
So what are the files you DO with? The easiest thing to do after you finish editing your iOS is to e-mail the completed photo. This “sheals” the changes to the image. This is done. You can also post it on Facebook or Instagram (or the like), but you know that the image’s quality will always be lowered a bit.
As I said, these files on Windows or Android devices are now completely useless. Options for use may be available soon, but it is not possible to forecast when. If you choose, you can safely delete these files. However, it won’t hurt anything when you want to save it hoping that it will one day be usable. Every file is small and virtually does not take up drive space.
Do you think it’s a step forward or backward for Apple to make these file types? Although I like to automatically see a photo of the original no longer overwritten, it seems to be more reasonable to just ask if we’re willing to overwrite or save it separately. This might save some room – and some confusion.